Intensive behavioural intervention (IBI) in Québec: A portrait of its implementation and its effects on children with pervasive development disorder, their families and their environments



The present project evaluated the implementation and effects of intensive behavioural intervention (IBI) programs offered by 15 intellectual disability and pervasive developmental disorder rehabilitation centres (CRDITED) in Québec to 118 young children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and their families.

The results documented significant developmental gains in the children (overall development and adaptive behaviours). Moreover, a range of development profiles were observed. IBI was implemented using different combinations of recognized approaches and strategies, applied in an intensive manner (more than 15 hours a week in most cases). In addition, for the majority of children, IBI was delivered in the childcare setting.

Some aspects of the intervention process can influence child development.

The findings suggest that some aspects of the intervention process can influence child development. However, it is impossible within the framework of this study to identify a specific combination of intervention characteristics that clearly predicts positive child development. For their part, the families reported being satisfied with the services received.

Meanwhile, some challenges remain regarding the implementation of IBI programs. The authors concluded with the importance of maintaining this intervention and the need to regulate its implementation on a wide scale. To this end, the data suggests the relevance of providing professionals with documentation to support optimal implementation.

This research project, conducted in partnership with a large number of institutions across the province, laid the foundation for joint reflection on improving professional practices.gamblers.

Main researcher

Carmen Dionne, Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières

Summary

Research report and appendices

Call for proposals

Deposit of the research report: November 2016

L'intervention comportementale intensive (ICI) au Québec : Portrait de son implantation et mesure de ses effets chez l'enfant ayant un trouble envahissant du développement, sa famille et ses milieux



Le présent projet évalue l'implantation et les effets des programmes d'intervention comportementale intensive (ICI) déployés par 15 CRDITED au Québec auprès de 118 jeunes enfants ayant un trouble du spectre de l'autisme (TSA) et leur famille.

Les résultats permettent de documenter des gains développementaux significatifs chez ces enfants (développement global et comportements adaptatifs). Une diversité de profils d'évolution est par ailleurs observée. L'ICI telle qu'implantée comprend différentes combinaisons d'approches et de stratégies reconnues, appliquées de façon intensive (plus de 15 heures semaine pour la majorité). De plus, pour une forte proportion des enfants, l'ICI est réalisée en milieux de garde.

Certains aspects du processus d'intervention peuvent influencer l'évolution des enfants.

Les résultats suggèrent que certains aspects du processus d'intervention peuvent influencer l'évolution des enfants. Toutefois, il est impossible dans le cadre de cette étude d'identifier une combinaison précise de caractéristiques de l'intervention qui prédit clairement une évolution positive des enfants. Les familles rapportent, pour leur part, être satisfaites des services reçus.

Cependant, certains défis persistent au chapitre de l'implantation des programmes ICI. Les auteurs concluent à l'importance du maintien de cette intervention et à la nécessité d'encadrer son implantation à grande échelle. À cet effet, les données suggèrent la pertinence d'offrir aux intervenants une documentation visant à soutenir une implantation optimale.

Ce projet de recherche en partenariat avec un grand nombre d'établissements à travers la province jette les bases à une démarche de réflexion conjointe visant l'amélioration des pratiques.

Chercheure principale

Carmen Dionne, Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières

Résumé

Rapport de recherche et annexes

Appel de propositions

Dépôt du rapport de recherche : novembre 2016