Student and Teacher Perspectives on Exemplary Practices in the Use of ICTs and e-Learning in Colleges



Knowing that motivation is at the crux of learning, we examined students' motivation to engage - or not - in courses which include the use of information and communication technologies (ICTs).

Although many college instructors use ICTs, there are no studies on the perspectives of teachers identified as exemplary users of technology. This is why we interviewed 114 teachers deemed by their students to be excellent in their use of technology in their teaching.

It is preferable to employ simpler and fewer ICTs well than to use many, complicated ones without a pedagogical purpose.

We obtained our interviewees by first surveying 337 students, 95 of whom were immigrants, about their ICT likes, dislikes, suggestions and teacher nominations. Highlights of the student survey indicate that there were no significant differences between genders, the English and French colleges, and those born in and outside of Canada.

An overwhelming majority of students liked it when their teachers used ICTs in their teaching and were able to detail their views (e.g., wanting access to PowerPoints online). After coding what the students truly appreciated, we realized our takehome message is that it is preferable for teachers to employ simpler and fewer ICTs well than to use many, complicated ones without a pedagogical purpose.

Finally, in comparing the two perspectives, our results show that many students wanted to use their own technology in the classroom but that a majority of their teachers did not allow them to do this, except for the exemplary teachers where most of them did allow this.

Main researcher

Catherine Fichten, Dawson College

Summary

Research report

Appendices

Call for proposals

Deposit of the research report: March 2017

Les perspectives des étudiants et des professeurs sur l'excellence dans l'utilisation des TIC et du cyberapprentissage au collégial



La motivation étant au cœur de l'apprentissage, nous avons étudié l'incidence de l'utilisation des technologies de l'information et de la communication (TIC) par les professeurs sur la motivation scolaire.

Bien que plusieurs TIC soient employées dans l'enseignement collégial, aucune étude n'aborde le point de vue des professeurs qui s'en servent d'une manière exemplaire.

Il est important d'utiliser moins de TIC et de favoriser celles qui sont simples et qui ont une visée pédagogique.

Nous avons demandé à 337 étudiants, dont 95 immigrants, de répondre à un sondage sur leurs préférences en matière de TIC, d'offrir leurs suggestions et de nommer les professeurs qui, selon eux, ont une excellente utilisation des TIC dans leurs cours. Nous avons ainsi interviewé 114 professeurs. Les résultats portant sur les étudiants n'indiquent aucune différence significative entre les genres, entre ceux nés au Canada et ailleurs, ni entre les cégeps francophones et anglophones.

Une écrasante majorité d'étudiants sont favorables à l'utilisation des TIC par les professeurs. Les étudiants ont clairement fait valoir leur point de vue en mentionnant, par exemple, leur désir d'avoir accès aux PowerPoint en ligne. En analysant les commentaires positifs des étudiants, nous concluons qu'il est important pour les professeurs d'utiliser moins de TIC et de favoriser celles qui sont simples et qui ont une visée pédagogique.

Enfin, notons que beaucoup d'étudiants veulent se servir de leurs propres TIC, mais la plupart des professeurs, sauf la grande majorité de ceux qui ont été nommés dans cette étude, en interdisent l'utilisation dans leurs cours.

Chercheure principale

Catherine Fichten, Collège Dawson

Résumé

Rapport de recherche (en anglais)

Annexes

Appel de propositions

Dépôt du rapport de recherche : mars 2017