Physician remuneration and effective clinical governance: a comparative analysis



Recent news articles in Québec's French-language media have drawn attention to a key issue: physician remuneration should measure up to the services provided to the Québec population.

In 2014, physician remuneration accounted for 21% of health care spending in Québec (ICIS, 2016). Between 2010 and 2015, the average gross income of physicians in Québec grew by 22% compared with an average of 8% across Canada (ICIS, 2015). In light of growing medical spending and changes in factors affecting health care systems (demographic, epidemiological, occupational, etc.), most industrialized countries are reviewing the way they pay physicians. An analysis of knowledge from scientific and grey literature dealing with physician remuneration identified a trend of change towards combinations of increasingly varied remuneration models, known as blended models.

There is a need to better understand and simplify the remuneration models by promoting transparency, consistency and accountability.

Québec is in line with this trend: while the fee-for-service model remains dominant, other forms of remuneration (salary, lump-sum fees, incentives, mixed remuneration, etc.) supplement the income of physicians. These blended models are aimed at enhancing physician integration and improving the quality and efficiency of care.

Given the recent introduction of these models, findings on their effects have not yet provided clear guidelines for application in Québec. With this in mind, there are two kinds of actions that should be considered. In the current remuneration context, there is a need to better understand and simplify the remuneration models in place by promoting transparency, consistency (e.g.: calculating the value of services and periodic review) and accountability (e.g.: quality and safety of care, cost control).

Innovation in physician remuneration policy calls for experimentation and a systematic assessment of innovative remuneration models in order to better serve priority clientele and to better meet the need for the management certain pathologies. To that end, is important to consider an integrated analysis of performance levers that could complement physician remuneration (clinical governance, professionalism). This would promote better coherence between the aims of the health care system and the preferences of the stakeholders concerned.

Main researcher

Jean-Louis Denis, Université de Montréal

Summary

Research report

Appendices

Call for proposals

Deposit of the research report: February 2017

Rémunération médicale et gouvernance clinique performante : une analyse comparative



Au Québec, la récente actualité dans les médias francophones met de l'avant un enjeu incontournable : la rémunération médicale devrait être à la hauteur des services rendus à la population québécoise.

En 2014, la rémunération des médecins représentait 21 % des dépenses de santé au Québec (ICIS, 2016). Entre 2010 et 2015, au Québec, les revenus bruts moyens des médecins ont crû de 22 % contre 8 % en moyenne au Canada (ICIS, 2015). Au regard de la croissance des dépenses médicales et de l'évolution de facteurs qui affectent les systèmes de santé (démographiques, épidémiologiques, professionnels, etc.), la plupart des pays industrialisés revoient leur manière de payer les médecins. L'analyse de connaissances issues des littératures scientifiques et grises traitant de la rémunération médicale a permis d'identifier une tendance des changements allant vers des combinaisons de modèles de rémunération de plus en plus diversifiées, qualifiées de modèles hétérogènes.

Il serait souhaitable de mieux comprendre et simplifier les modèles de rémunération en favorisant la transparence, la cohérence et la reddition de comptes.

Le Québec se situe dans cette lignée : alors que la rémunération à l'acte demeure dominante, d'autres formes de rémunération (salaire, honoraires forfaitaires, mesures incitatives, rémunération mixte, etc.) complètent les revenus des médecins. Ces modèles hétérogènes visent une meilleure intégration du médecin à l'organisation et une amélioration de la qualité et de l'efficience des soins.

Compte tenu de la mise en place récente de ces modèles, les résultats sur leurs effets ne permettent pas de dégager une ligne directrice claire à des fins d'application au Québec. Dans cette optique, les actions à privilégier devraient être de deux ordres. Dans le contexte actuel de rémunération, il serait souhaitable de mieux comprendre et simplifier les modèles de rémunération en place en favorisant la transparence, la cohérence (ex. : méthode de calcul de la valeur de l'acte et révision périodique) et la reddition de comptes (ex. : qualité et sécurité des soins, maîtrise des coûts).

Dans une perspective d'innovation de la politique de rémunération médicale, une expérimentation et une évaluation systématique de modèles innovants de rémunération serait de mise afin de mieux servir des clientèles jugées prioritaires ou de mieux répondre aux besoins de prise en charge de certaines pathologies. À cette fin, il serait important d'envisager une analyse intégrée des leviers de performance pouvant agir en complémentarité de la rémunération médicale (gouvernance clinique, professionnalisme). Ceci favoriserait une meilleure cohérence entre les finalités du système de santé et les préférences des parties prenantes concernés.

Chercheur principal

Jean-Louis Denis, Université de Montréal

Résumé

Rapport de recherche

Annexes

Appel de propositions

Dépôt du rapport de recherche : février 2017