Explanatory theories, risk factors and effective interventions with regard to domestic violence among the elderly, the disabled and immigrants: similarities and differences between these three vulnerability contexts



Some individuals are more vulnerable to domestic violence, including the elderly, immigrants and the disabled.

The same person may also combine several of these contexts at once. However, the reality of these men and women is often overlooked, so that community organizations are not always able to respond adequately to their needs.

Prevention efforts should pay particular attention to reducing the risk factors specific to these categories.

To address this issue, a team of researchers carried out a critical literature synthesis in order to better understand how belonging to one or more of these groups can make a person more vulnerable to domestic violence.

The findings show that the experience of these groups differs from that of the general population in that there is an increased risk of domestic violence, and that the forms of violence and risk factors involved are unique to these contexts. Furthermore, the accumulated consequences of violence experienced throughout their lifetime tend to crystallize and affect the individual's ability and hope of escaping the cycle of violence. Therefore, prevention efforts should pay particular attention to reducing the risk factors specific to these vulnerability contexts.

However, there is little empirical evidence to help understand the complexity of domestic violence experienced by the disabled, the elderly and immigrants. To address this gap, the researchers recommend developing a research agenda specific to the issue of men and women living in multiple contexts of vulnerability to domestic violence, so as to better understand their reality and thereby promote access to services appropriate to their needs.

Main researcher

Nathalie Sasseville, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi

Summary

Research report

Appendices

Call for proposals

Deposit of the research report: March 2017

Théories explicatives, facteurs de risque et interventions efficaces au regard de la violence conjugale chez les personnes aînées, handicapées et immigrantes : similarités et distinctions entre ces trois contextes de vulnérabilité



Certaines personnes sont plus vulnérables à la violence conjugale, dont les personnes aînées, immigrantes et handicapées.

Une même personne peut également cumuler plusieurs de ces contextes simultanément. La réalité de ces femmes et hommes est néanmoins passée sous silence, si bien que les organismes du milieu ne parviennent pas toujours à répondre adéquatement à leurs besoins.

 

Les actions de prévention devraient accorder une attention particulière à la réduction des facteurs de risque propres à ses catégories.

 

C'est pour répondre à ce besoin que des chercheurs ont réalisé une synthèse critique de la littérature afin de mieux comprendre comment l'appartenance à un ou plusieurs de ces groupes peut rendre une personne plus vulnérable à la violence conjugale.

 

Les résultats montrent que l'expérience de ces groupes se distingue de celle de la population en général par un risque accru de subir de la violence conjugale, ainsi que par le fait de vivre des formes de violence et des facteurs de risque uniques à ces contextes. De plus, le cumul des conséquences de la violence vécue tout au cours de la vie tend à se cristalliser et à affecter l'habileté ainsi que l'espoir de ces personnes à pouvoir se sortir du cycle de la violence. C'est pourquoi les actions de prévention devraient accorder une attention particulière à la réduction des facteurs de risque propres à ces contextes de vulnérabilité.

 

Les preuves empiriques permettant de comprendre la complexité de la violence conjugale vécue par les personnes handicapées, aînées et immigrantes sont néanmoins parcimonieuses. Les chercheurs recommandent à cet effet de développer un agenda de recherche spécifique à la problématique des femmes et des hommes vivant un cumul de contextes de vulnérabilité à la violence conjugale, de manière à mieux comprendre leur réalité et ainsi favoriser l'accès à des services appropriés à leurs besoins.

Chercheure principale

Nathalie Sasseville, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi

Résumé

Rapport de recherche

Annexes

Appel de propositions

Dépôt du rapport de recherche : mars 2017