Issues related to the integration and inclusion of at-risk elementary and secondary students: meta-analysis and meta-synthesis



The primary objective of this knowledge synthesis was to produce a new understanding of the issues related to the integration and inclusion of at-risk students in regular elementary and secondary school classrooms.

52 articles (out of a total of 271) were selected for analysis. The findings demonstrate the contributions and limitations associated with practices that support school inclusion or integration. Secondly, favourable and unfavourable conditions for the development of more inclusive practices in the context of elementary and secondary education were identified.

Favourable and unfavourable conditions for the development of more inclusive practices were identified.

At the elementary level, the conditions conducive to the development of more inclusive practices concern the individual teacher, including: representations of the student according to abilities rather than limitations, representations of the school as a place of learning, and greater concern for instructional planning; and collaborative practices: between peers, with other education professionals and with parents.

At the secondary level, the conditions conducive to the development of more inclusive practices revolve around the school administration (organizational and educational leadership) including: support for school staff mobilization and involvement, the promotion of change and risk taking, and the creation of formal and informal discussion sessions; teacher attitudes: respectful communication, risk taking, and instructional planning; and a culture of collaboration including: co-teaching, co-planning, co-training and mentoring.

Main researcher

Nadia Rousseau, Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières

Summary

Research report

Call for proposals

Deposit of the research report: December 2015

Les enjeux de l'intégration et de l'inclusion scolaire des élèves à risque du primaire et du secondaire : méta-analyse et méta-synthèse



Cette synthèse des connaissances avait comme principal objectif de produire une nouvelle compréhension des enjeux de l'intégration et de l'inclusion scolaire des élèves à risque du primaire et du secondaire en classe ordinaire.

Ce sont 52 écrits (sur un total de 271) qui auront été retenus pour fin d'analyse. Les résultats ont permis, dans un premier temps, de mettre en évidence les apports et les limites associées aux pratiques qui tendent vers l'inclusion ou l'intégration scolaire. Dans un deuxième temps, les conditions favorables et défavorables au développement de pratiques plus inclusives en contexte d'enseignement primaire et secondaire ont été répertoriées.

Les conditions favorables et défavorables au développement de pratiques plus inclusives ont été répertoriées.

Au primaire, les conditions favorables au développement de pratiques plus inclusives touche la personne de l'enseignant dont : sa représentation de l'élève en fonction de ses capacités plutôt que de ses limites, sa représentation de l'école comme un lieu d'apprentissage, et sa préoccupation accrue pour la planification de l'enseignement; et les pratiques collaboratives : par les pairs, avec d'autres professionnels de l'éducation et avec les parents.

Au secondaire, les conditions favorables au développement de pratiques plus inclusives gravitent autour du leadership de la direction d'école (leadership organisationnel et pédagogique) dont : le soutien à la mobilisation et à l'engagement du personnel scolaire, la valorisation du changement et de la prise de risque, et la création d'espaces de réflexion formelles et informelles; de la posture de l'enseignant : la communication respectueuse, la prise de risque, et la planification des apprentissages; et une culture de collaboration dont : le co-enseignement, la co-planification, la co-formation et le mentorat.

Chercheure principale

Nadia Rousseau, Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières

Résumé

Rapport de recherche

Appel de propositions

Dépôt du rapport de recherche : décembre 2015