Preventing school dropout and violence among adolescents through intervention on entry into kindergarten: the long-term effect of the Fluppy program



Interventions need to be put in place for kindergarten students with disruptive behaviour (DB) with a view to preventing school dropout and violence during adolescence.

The Fluppy prevention program has been used in Québec kindergartens for 20 years. It targets children with high levels of DB and includes five intervention components implemented in the classroom and at home.

The Fluppy prevention program has been used in Québec kindergartens for 20 years.

 

Our team began to evaluate the efficacy of Fluppy in 2002. Students (N=320) with high levels of DB were randomly assigned to an experimental or a control group. The beneficial effects of Fluppy were then observed on the short term.

 

The real test of Fluppy's efficacy required a new long-term assessment of the program's participants (at age 17). A total of 253 families (80% of the initial sample) took part in this follow-up study.

 

The findings showed no difference in academic or psychosocial outcomes between the young people exposed to Fluppy in kindergarten and those in the control group at age 17.  In other words, Fluppy had no impact on the long term. These findings could be explained by the low intensity of the version of Fluppy under evaluation (lower than that prescribed by the program's developers and offered in similar US programs).

 

We recommend: 1) tightening the implementation of Fluppy and adhering more closely to the developer's guidelines by increasing the program intensity and 2) continuing the development (content and targets) and evaluation of Fluppy.
 

Main researcher

François Poulin, Université du Québec à Montréal

Summary

Research report

Call for proposals

Deposit of the research report: July 2017

Prévenir le décrochage scolaire et la violence à l'adolescence en intervenant dès l'entrée en maternelle : effet à long terme du Programme Fluppy



Des interventions doivent être mises en place auprès des élèves de maternelle qui manifestent des comportements perturbateurs (CP) afin de prévenir le décrochage et la violence à l'adolescence.

Le Programme Fluppy (PF) est appliqué en maternelle depuis 20 ans au Québec. Il cible les élèves qui présentent un niveau élevé de CP et comprend cinq modalités d'intervention implantées en classe et à domicile.

Le Programme Fluppy est appliqué en maternelle depuis 20 ans au Québec.

Notre équipe a amorcé une évaluation d'effectivité du PF en 2002. Des élèves (N=320) présentant un niveau élevé de CP ont été répartis aléatoirement dans des conditions expérimentales et contrôle. Des effets bénéfiques du PF ont alors été observés à court terme.

Le véritable test quant à l'efficacité du PF nécessitait une nouvelle évaluation à long terme des participants (17 ans). Un total de 253 familles (80 % de l'échantillon initial) a participé à ce suivi.

Les résultats révèlent que les jeunes exposés au PF à la maternelle ne diffèrent pas de ceux de la condition contrôle sur les variables scolaires et psychosociales à 17 ans. En d'autres termes, le PF n'a pas eu d'impact à long terme. Ces résultats pourraient s'expliquer par la faible intensité de la version du PF que nous avons évalué (plus faible que ce qui est prescrit par les concepteurs et ce qui est offert dans les programmes américains similaires).

Il est recommandé de : 1) resserrer l'implantation du PF et se rapprocher davantage de ce qui est prescrit par le concepteur en augmentant l'intensité et 2) poursuivre le développement (contenu et cibles) et l'évaluation du PF.

Chercheur principal

François Poulin, Université du Québec à Montréal

Résumé

Rapport de recherche

Appel de propositions

Dépôt du rapport de recherche : juillet 2017