When fathers get together



Families and fatherhood have changed over the last several years, and fathers have begun joining support groups to better assume their new role. How do these activities change their conception of masculinity and fatherhood?

When questioned about their motives, single fathers explained that they were looking for respite, socialization and support.

In 2017, Dominic Bizot, a researcher and director in the Social Work Teaching Unit at Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, conducted a series of semi-structured interviews with eleven fathers over the age of 30 from eight support groups in different cities across Québec.

When questioned about their motives, single fathers explained that they were looking for respite, socialization and support because of a breakup, a conflictual situation or legal procedures against their ex-spouse. Fathers living with a partner were seeking information, discussion and the chance to share experiences. All wanted concrete answers in terms of resource referrals, the management of emotions and advice about the children's education.

The researcher noted that, at the outset, the men integrated passively into the group. They observed and listened, and only began opening up to the others when they observed certain benefits such as comfort, strength and well-being. Many of them created lasting ties with other members of the group.

In terms of observed effects, activities aimed at recognition, sharing and introspection led the men to see themselves more positively. They felt less pressure and guilt with regard to their role as a father. Their relationships with the mother of their children, with their children and with their own parents became more harmonious.

The study showed that it can be very difficult to organize support groups like these, due in part to a lack of funding. Dominic Bizot's work is contributing to the development of knowledge about the situation of fathers and about this type of activity. It will help convince governments of the relevance of support groups.

Quand les pères se regroupent



La famille et la paternité se transforment depuis plusieurs années et certains pères intègrent des groupes d'entraide afin de mieux aborder leur nouveau rôle. Comment ces activités transforment-elles leur conception de la masculinité et de la paternité ?

Interrogés quant à leurs motivations, les pères monoparentaux expliquent qu'ils recherchent le répit, la socialisation et du soutien. 

En 2017, Dominic Bizot, chercheur et directeur à l'Unité d'enseignement en travail social de l'Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, a mené une série d'entrevues semi-dirigées auprès de onze pères de plus de 30 ans issus de huit groupes d'entraide de différentes villes du Québec.

Interrogés quant à leurs motivations, les pères monoparentaux expliquent qu'ils recherchent le répit, la socialisation et du soutien en raison d'une rupture, d'une situation conflictuelle ou de procédures juridiques qui les opposent à leur ex-conjointe. Les hommes vivant en couple sollicitent plutôt des enseignements, des échanges et du partage d'expérience. Tous demandent des solutions concrètes sur le plan des références à des ressources, de la gestion des émotions et des conseils sur l'éducation des enfants.

Le chercheur a noté qu'au départ, les hommes s'intègrent passivement au groupe. Ils observent et écoutent, et ne commencent à s'ouvrir aux autres que lorsqu'ils constatent certains bienfaits tels le réconfort, le ressourcement et le mieux-être. Beaucoup d'entre eux créent des liens durables avec d'autres membres du groupe.

Au chapitre des effets observés, les activités de valorisation, de partage et d'introspection amènent les hommes à se percevoir plus positivement. Ils ressentent moins de pression et de culpabilité par rapport à leur rôle de père. Les relations avec la mère de leurs enfants, de même qu'avec leurs enfants et leurs propres parents, deviennent plus harmonieuses.

La recherche a révélé qu'il est très difficile d'organiser de tels groupes d'entraide, notamment en raison d'un manque de financement. Les travaux de Dominic Bizot contribuent à développer les connaissances sur la situation des pères et sur ce type de rencontres.  Elles aideront à convaincre les gouvernements de la pertinence des groupes d'entraide.