From Ireland to Canada: 40 years of Irish struggle



Irish immigrants played an important role during the uprisings that broke out in Upper and Lower Canada in 1837-1838. However, these events are generally studied through the lens of Canadian history, rather than from a transnational perspective.

While some groups were indeed extremely violent, they were a minority.

Yet the involvement of Irish immigrants in these Canadian conflicts was also influenced by historical events in which they took part in their home country before emigrating, says Jane McGaughey, a researcher in the School of Irish Studies at Concordia University.  

Using archival material, she retraced the stories of several Irish families who immigrated to Canada in the early 19th century, analyzing newspaper articles from the time and personal accounts to trace their activities. Several of these families were involved in the Irish Rebellion of 1798. They then crossed the Atlantic and took part in the 1837-1838 uprisings, either for the rebels or the Crown.  

These journeys punctuated by conflict forged enduring stereotypes of the violence of Irish men. Even in the construction of Irish cultural identity, manliness, emigration, violence and political struggle are often intertwined. But reality was quite different, as Jane McGaughey's research shows. While some groups, such as the Shiners—Irish lumberjacks who attacked French-Canadian timber operations in the Outaouais between 1837 and 1845—, were indeed extremely violent, they were a minority. In fact, the Irish who played a political or public role in Canada in the 19th century did not fit these stereotypes. Yet this negative perception coloured North Americans' view of Irish immigrants, whom they considered to be violent troublemakers. This could have affected their integration in their host country. 

Jane McCaughey's work reminds us that Canada was not formed in a vacuum, and that a broader look at the peoples who built it can provide a better understanding of our history.

De l'Irlande au Canada : 40 ans de luttes irlandaises



Les immigrants irlandais ont joué un rôle important lors des révoltes qui ont éclaté dans le Haut et le Bas-Canada en 1837-1838. Ces événements sont toutefois généralement étudiés sous l'angle de l'histoire canadienne et non dans une optique transnationale. 

Si certains groupes étaient effectivement très violents, ils constituaient une minorité.

Or, l'engagement des immigrants irlandais dans ces luttes canadiennes découle aussi des événements historiques auxquels ils ont pris part dans leur pays d'origine avant leur migration, souligne Jane McGaughey, chercheuse à l'École des études irlandaises de l'Université Concordia. 

À l'aide d'archives, elle a retracé l'histoire de plusieurs familles irlandaises qui ont immigré au Canada au début du 19e siècle. Puis, elle a analysé des articles de journaux de l'époque et des récits de la communauté, pour répertorier leurs actions. Plusieurs de ces familles s'étaient engagées dans la rébellion de 1798 en Irlande. Elles ont ensuite traversé l'Atlantique et ont participé aux soulèvements de 1837-1838 du côté des rebelles ou de la Couronne.    

Ces parcours ponctués de luttes ont forgé des stéréotypes tenaces sur la violence des hommes irlandais. Même dans la construction de l'identité culturelle irlandaise, les récits entremêlent souvent virilité, migration, violence et luttes politiques. La réalité est pourtant bien différente, comme le démontrent les recherches de Jane McGaughey. Si certains groupes, comme les Shiners – ces bûcherons irlandais qui ont durement affronté les bûcherons canadiens-français dans l'Outaouais entre 1837 et 1845 –, étaient effectivement très violents, ils constituaient une minorité. En fait, les Irlandais qui ont joué un rôle politique ou public au Canada au 19e siècle correspondaient peu à ces stéréotypes.  Pourtant, cette perception négative a teinté la vision que les populations nord-américaines avaient des immigrants irlandais, qu'elles jugeaient violents et fauteurs de trouble. Cela a pu avoir des conséquences sur leur intégration dans leur pays d'accueil. 

Les travaux de Jane McGaughey nous apprennent que le Canada ne s'est pas formé en vase clos, ce qu'un regard plus large sur les populations qui l'ont bâti permet de mieux comprendre.