Works of art made of… microbes!



Our relationship with microbes and viruses is in a state of change. While they are generally considered to be dangerous adversaries that must be combatted, they can also be formidable allies. For example, viruses are used to deliver drugs to target cells within the patient's body, and microorganisms are used to remove pollutants from the soil and decontaminate rivers after oil spills (bioremediation).

Duff cultivated cells containing a deactivated strain of HIV and mycelium on sculptures.

Concordia University communications researcher Tagny Duff is exploring this relationship with BioreMEDIAtion, a research-creation project that lies at the intersection of art and the life sciences and seeks to expand our relationship with the microscopic living world through art.

While working in a laboratory at the University of Lisbon, Duff cultivated viral cells containing a deactivated strain of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) and mycelium (the vegetative part of a fungus) on sculptures in the form of science equipment composed of agar-agar, a gelling agent obtained from algae. Her project aimed to explore how bioremediation can lead to the creation of new bio-plastics and tools used in the arts and sciences. This exercise also serves to challenge our notions of cleanliness, sterility and disease.

This work is helping to examine the evolution of the representation and understanding of life processes and systems in art and science. It has contributed to the creation of a wet lab for artists, scholars and social sciences researchers working on biological systems at Fluxmedia, a research-creation network founded by Tagny Duff and located at Concordia University's Milieux Institute for Arts, Culture and Technology.


 

Title: "Wet Net"
Artist researcher: Tagny Duff
Medium: Biological sculpture and installation
Materials: Fixed HeLa Cells, mycellium and agar
Photo credit: Tagny Duff

Des œuvres d'art faites de… microbes



La relation que nous avons à l'égard des microbes et des virus est en pleine évolution. Bien qu'il s'agisse parfois de farouches adversaires à combattre, ils peuvent aussi devenir de formidables alliés. Par exemple, certains virus sont utilisés pour livrer des médicaments au bon endroit dans le corps d'un patient, et des microbes servent à dépolluer les sols ou à décontaminer un cours d'eau lors d'un déversement de pétrole (biorémédiation).

Tagny Duff a cultivé des cellules contenant une souche désactivée du VIH et du mycélium sur des sculptures.

Chercheure en communication à l'Université Concordia, Tagny Duff explore cette relation dans son projet BioreMEDIAtion, qui se situe à l'intersection des arts et de la science. La chercheure souhaite approfondir notre relation avec ce monde vivant microscopique par le biais des arts.

Lors d'un séjour dans un laboratoire de l'Université de Lisbonne, Tagny Duff a cultivé des cellules virales contenant une souche désactivée du virus de l'immunodéficience humaine (VIH) et du mycélium (la partie végétative du champignon) sur des sculptures en forme d'instruments scientifiques composées d'agar-agar, un produit gélifiant. Son projet visait à explorer comment la biorémédiation peut entraîner la création de nouveaux bioplastiques et d'outils utilisés dans les sciences et les arts. Cet exercice permet aussi de revoir notre conception de la propreté, de la stérilité et de la maladie.

Ces travaux aident à examiner l'évolution de la représentation et de la compréhension du vivant dans l'art et la science. Ils ont contribué à la création d'un laboratoire humide pour les artistes, les scientifiques et les chercheurs en sciences humaines qui travaillent avec des systèmes biologiques, dans le cadre du groupe de recherche Fluxmedia Research-Creation Network. Fondé par Tagny Duff, ce dernier est installé au Milieux Institute for Arts, Culture and Technology de l'Université Concordia.


 

Titre de la photo originale : Wet Net
Artiste : Tagny Duff
Medium : sculpture biologique et installation
Matériaux : cellules HeLa fixées, Mycellium et gélose
Crédit photo : Tagny Duff