Putting an end to hypersexualization



Hypersexualization: a word that has been on everybody's lips for a number of years. But what does it actually mean? How can we affirm that a person is hypersexualized?

Attachment insecurity is linked to sexualized attitudes.

Audrey Brassard, a researcher in the Department of Psychology at Université de Sherbrooke, carried out research to address two concerns: the lack of tools for measuring hypersexualization and the lack of studies on hypersexualization among young adults.

She and her team developed the Adult Hypersexualization Questionnaire (AHQ), which measures six dimensions of hypersexualization:

  • Over-investment in a sexualized appearance, i.e. an excessive concern with making oneself desirable;
  • Sexual objectification, leading an individual to use his or her body as a sexual object to obtain benefits;
  • Sexualized discourse;
  • Seduction;
  • Performance-based sexuality;
  • Lack of intimacy in sex, i.e. a failure to associate sexuality with intimacy, loving feelings or commitment.

After getting 872 men and women between the ages of 18 and 29 to complete the questionnaire, the researcher came up with some nuanced findings. For example, the fact that the young adults have an extremely sexualized discourse emerges as a generally positive asset that allows them to communicate their sexual needs and preferences to their partners.

The other five dimensions are associated with lower sexual and relationship satisfaction, especially when present in excess. In addition, attachment insecurity, characterized by a fear of abandonment or of losing one's spouse, is linked to sexualized attitudes.

To date, the results have been presented at conferences and to professionals working in schools and hospitals, as well as to couples in difficulty. The findings suggest that the derogatory term "hypersexualization" should perhaps be abandoned in favour of "sexualized attitudes among adults" and a more nuanced approach to the issue.

Pour en finir avec l'hypersexualisation



Hypersexualisation. Ce mot est sur toutes les lèvres, et depuis plusieurs années. Mais qu'entend-on par là ? Comment peut-on affirmer qu'une personne est « hypersexualisée » ?

L'insécurité d'attachement est reliée à des attitudes sexualisées.

Audrey Brassard, chercheure au Département de psychologie de l'Université de Sherbrooke, a mené des recherches pour corriger deux lacunes : l'absence d'outils pour mesurer l'hypersexualisation et le manque d'études sur le sujet réalisées auprès de jeunes adultes.

Avec son équipe, elle a élaboré le Questionnaire d'hypersexualisation adulte (QHA), qui permet d'évaluer six dimensions de cette question :

  • Le surinvestissement dans une apparence sexualisée, c'est-à-dire investir beaucoup d'efforts pour se rendre désirable;
  • L'objectification sexuelle, qui amène un individu à utiliser son corps comme un objet sexuel pour obtenir des avantages;
  • Le discours sexualisé;
  • La séduction;
  • La sexualité fondée sur la performance;
  • le sens peu intime accordé à la sexualité, c'est-à-dire le fait de ne pas concevoir que la sexualité est liée à l'intimité, aux sentiments amoureux ou à l'engagement.

Après avoir fait remplir son questionnaire à 872 hommes et femmes de 18 à 29 ans, la chercheure en est venue à des constats très nuancés. Par exemple, le fait que ces jeunes adultes aient un discours très sexualisé ressort comme un élément généralement positif. Cet atout leur permet de mieux communiquer à leurs partenaires leurs besoins et leurs préférences en matière de sexualité.

Les cinq autres dimensions ont trait à une plus faible satisfaction sexuelle et au sein du couple, surtout lorsqu'elles sont présentes à l'excès chez une personne. De plus, l'insécurité d'attachement, qui fait craindre de perdre son conjoint ou d'être abandonné, est reliée à des attitudes sexualisées.

Les résultats ont jusqu'à maintenant été présentés dans le cadre de colloques et surtout à des intervenants œuvrant dans les milieux scolaires et hospitaliers, et à des couples en difficulté. Cette recherche suggère qu'il faudrait peut-être délaisser le terme très péjoratif d'« hypersexualisation » et parler plutôt d'« attitudes sexualisées chez les adultes », en y apportant toutes les nuances qui s'imposent.