Beyond the clichés about the digital skills of youth



It is often said that young people born into today's digital world are highly proficient in information and communication technologies. However, this common preconception does not reflect the reality observed by teachers, as noted by Jean Gabin Ntebutse, an education researcher at Université de Sherbrooke.

Young people's proficiency is not as developed as one might think.

The researcher conducted semi-structured interviews with 17 teachers in the Eastern Townships. Teachers are in an ideal position to observe and comment on young people's relationships with digital tools and technologies, an issue that is especially important in the context of education reform that places considerable emphasis on the development of digital skills.

The teachers interviewed affirmed that their students have good basic digital abilities, but that their proficiency is not as developed as one might think. For example, students' use of the more advanced functions of programs such as Word, Excel and PowerPoint, remains limited.

Moreover, digital proficiency is not simply a question of pushing the right buttons. Jean Gabin Ntebutse also sought to determine whether the students possessed metacognitive skills (for example, the ability to assess or critically analyze the information they find on the Internet) and ethical skills (respect for privacy, online relationships with others, etc.). In both cases, the teachers deplored the low level of understanding and awareness shown by their students. This highlights the need to better educate young people about different aspects of the use of digital tools.

Jean Gabin Ntebutse's research also indicates that we must stop presenting "young people" as a monolithic group when in fact, depending on their socioeconomic and cultural background, they have different digital skills and understandings that need to be taken into account. Breaching the digital divide is a crucial issue for education systems, and it is important that research continue with the aim of guiding strategies that will foster the development of digital skills for all students.

Dépasser les clichés sur les compétences numériques des jeunes



On entend souvent dire que les jeunes, nés dans un monde qui était déjà passé au numérique, maîtrisent à merveille les technologies de l'information et de la communication. Or, cette idée reçue ne reflète pas la réalité observée par les enseignants, comme l'a constaté Jean Gabin Ntebutse, chercheur en éducation à l'Université de Sherbrooke.

Les compétences des jeunes ne seraient pas aussi développées qu'on peut le penser.

Le chercheur a effectué des entrevues semi-dirigées auprès de 17 enseignants de l'Estrie pour recueillir les commentaires de ces témoins privilégiés du rapport qu'entretiennent les jeunes avec les outils numériques. Un sujet important, notamment dans le cadre du renouveau pédagogique, qui accorde une grande place au développement des compétences numériques.

Les enseignants interrogés soutiennent que les élèves possèdent de bonnes habiletés numériques de base, mais que leurs compétences ne seraient pas aussi développées qu'on peut le penser. L'usage que les élèves font des fonctions plus avancées de logiciels comme Word, Excel ou PowerPoint, par exemple, resterait limité.

Par ailleurs, ces compétences ne se résument pas à peser sur le bon bouton. Jean Gabin Ntebutse cherchait aussi à savoir si les élèves possédaient des habiletés métacognitives (capacité à critiquer ou à relativiser l'information qu'ils trouvent sur Internet, par exemple) et éthiques (respect de la vie privée, rapport aux autres en ligne, etc.). Dans les deux cas, les enseignants déplorent un niveau de compréhension et de sensibilisation peu élevé. Cela met en lumière le besoin d'enseigner davantage aux jeunes les différents aspects de l'usage des outils numériques.

La recherche de Jean Gabin Ntebutse montre par ailleurs qu'il faut cesser de présenter « les jeunes » comme un bloc monolithique. En effet, en fonction du milieu socioéconomique et culturel d'où ils viennent, ils ont une habileté et une compréhension du numérique différentes dont il faut tenir compte. Briser les inégalités sur le plan du numérique est un enjeu crucial pour les systèmes éducatifs et il est important que des recherches se poursuivent en vue d'orienter les stratégies qui favoriseront le développement des compétences numériques chez tous les élèves.