Citizens' voices at the heart of the Quiet Revolution



The many historical studies on the Quiet Revolution are primarily concerned with political figures. But what about the voices of the citizens of the day?

Stéphane Savard, a history researcher at Université du Québec à Montréal, is studying the public parliamentary committee hearings held in Québec between 1965 and 1980 in order to identify the political positions of the citizens and groups who spoke at the hearings and their influence on the political decisions of the time.

The researcher noted many cases where citizens' voices had an impact on State decisions.

His early results focus mainly on decisions made with regard to natural resource management. The researcher noted many cases where citizens' voices had an impact on State decisions. In 1973, for example, Hydro-Québec's Champigny project to build a hydroelectric plant on the Jacques-Cartier River was abandoned because of strong opposition shown at the parliamentary committee hearing.

In 1977, a parliamentary committee hearing held as part of the development of Québec's energy policy led to a moratorium on nuclear energy. One year later, plans to partially nationalize the asbestos industry did not suit the opposition, which then demanded a public parliamentary committee hearing. The Lévesque government allowed the hearing to be held, while limiting it to stakeholders in the regions concerned. The majority of the latter were in favour of the project, which then went ahead, strengthening the government's position in drafting its asbestos policy.

Stéphane Savard's work is shedding light on the intervention of sociopolitical actors other than political parties in the debates and conflicts of the Quiet Revolution. The researcher is analyzing government decisions from a new angle, demonstrating the contribution made by these actors. His findings have been published in scientific articles in the Bulletin d'histoire politique and the Revue d'histoire de l'Amérique française, and a scientific paper presented to the Canadian Historical Association.

La parole citoyenne au cœur de la Révolution tranquille



Les nombreuses études historiques sur la Révolution tranquille s'intéressent surtout aux personnages politiques. Qu'en est-il de la voix des citoyens de l'époque?

Stéphane Savard, chercheur en histoire à l'Université du Québec à Montréal, se consacre à l'étude des commissions parlementaires publiques tenues entre 1965 et 1980 au Québec. À travers elles, il décrypte les positions politiques des citoyens et des groupes qui s'y sont fait entendre, et leur influence sur les décisions politiques de cette époque.

Il existe de nombreux cas où la prise de parole citoyenne a eu un impact sur les décisions de l'État.

Ses premiers résultats s'attardent surtout aux décisions prises au sujet de la gestion des ressources naturelles. Le chercheur relève de nombreux cas où la prise de parole citoyenne a eu un impact sur les décisions de l'État. En 1973, par exemple, le projet de centrale hydroélectrique de Champigny, qu'Hydro-Québec souhaitait construire sur la rivière Jacques-Cartier, sera abandonné en raison de la vive opposition manifestée en commission parlementaire.

En 1977, une commission parlementaire tenue dans le cadre de l'élaboration de la politique énergétique du Québec mènera à un moratoire sur l'énergie nucléaire. Un an plus tard, le projet de nationalisation partielle de l'industrie de l'amiante ne fait pas l'affaire de l'opposition, qui réclame alors une commission parlementaire publique. Le gouvernement Lévesque permettra la tenue d'une telle commission en la restreignant aux acteurs des régions concernées. Ces derniers se montrent majoritairement favorables au projet qui ira donc de l'avant, confortant le gouvernement dans la rédaction de sa politique de l'amiante.

Les travaux de Stéphane Savard éclairent l'intervention d'acteurs sociopolitiques autres que les partis politiques dans les débats et les conflits de la Révolution tranquille. Le chercheur analyse les décisions gouvernementales sous un autre angle, en démontrant l'apport de ces acteurs. Ses résultats ont notamment fait l'objet d'articles scientifiques dans le Bulletin d'histoire politique et la Revue d'histoire de l'Amérique française, en plus de communications scientifiques devant la Société historique du Canada.