The academic trajectories of immigrants



University students from immigrant families face different challenges than their counterparts whose parents were born in Canada. Do these challenges have an impact on their academic trajectory?

The students' profiles differ depending on the region of origin of their parents.

Pierre Canisius Kamanzi, an education researcher at Université de Montréal, examined the data from the Statistics Canada Youth in Transition Survey of young Canadians aged 15 in 1999 and aged 24 in 2008. He was seeking to evaluate any inequalities in terms of access, persistence and graduation from postsecondary studies according to the origin of the student's parents.

Youth with an immigrant background were more likely to attend postsecondary education than those whose parents were born here (90% compared with 78%). However, this proportion was lower among Latin American and Caribbean students (64%). On the other hand, the latter were the most likely to persist, with more than 80% of them having obtained a university degree by the age of 24. They were followed by students with both parents born in Southeast Asia (58%). Among students with both parents born in Canada, this proportion is 22%.

Thus, it is probably not accurate to refer globally to "students with an immigrant background", as their profiles differ depending on the region of origin of their parents. Students of Latin American and Caribbean origin attended university less frequently, but those who did were very successful. Conversely, while almost all young people whose parents were born in Sub-Saharan Africa enrolled in university (99%), only one in ten graduated with a degree (9%).

Having a better understanding of students with an immigrant background would help governments, teaching institutions and education stakeholders to better target their resources and support measures.

Le parcours universitaire des immigrants



Les étudiants universitaires immigrants font face à des défis différents de leurs pairs dont les parents sont nés au Canada. Ces défis ont-ils un impact sur leur parcours universitaire ?

Les profils diffèrent selon la région où sont nés les parents de ces jeunes.

Pierre Canisius Kamanzi, chercheur en éducation à l'Université de Montréal, a scruté les données de l'Enquête auprès des jeunes en transition menée par Statistique Canada auprès des jeunes Canadiens âgés de 15 ans en 1999 et de 24 ans en 2008. Il cherchait à évaluer les inégalités sur le plan de l'accès, de la persévérance et de l'obtention du diplôme d'études postsecondaires en fonction de l'origine des parents de l'étudiant.

Les jeunes issus de l'immigration accèdent aux études postsecondaires dans une proportion relativement plus élevée que ceux dont les parents sont nés ici (90 % contre 78 %). Cette proportion est toutefois plus basse chez les étudiants d'Amérique latine et des Caraïbes (64 %). Par contre, ces derniers sont les plus persévérants. À l'âge de 24 ans, plus de 80 % d'entre eux obtiennent un diplôme universitaire. Ils sont suivis des étudiants dont les deux parents sont nés en Asie du Sud-Est (58 %). Chez les étudiants dont les deux parents sont nés au Canada, cette proportion est de 22 %.

Ainsi, il n'est probablement pas judicieux de parler globalement des « élèves issus de l'immigration », car les profils diffèrent selon la région où sont nés les parents de ces jeunes. Les Latino-Américains et les Caribéens accèdent moins aux études universitaires, mais ceux qui le font réussissent bien. À l'inverse, si la presque totalité des jeunes dont les parents sont nés en Afrique subsaharienne s'inscrit à l'université (99 %), seulement près d'un de ces étudiants sur dix obtient un diplôme (9 %).

Bien connaître les étudiants issus de l'immigration aiderait les gouvernements, les établissements d'enseignement et les acteurs du monde de l'éducation à mieux cibler leurs ressources et leurs mesures de soutien.