A feminist look at society



As a young mother in the 1970s and a professor in the Department of Sociology and the Institut de recherches et d'études féministes at Université du Québec à Montréal, Francine Descarries was drawn to the feminist movement, which was becoming increasingly vocal. The subject came to her attention less through her reading than by her own observations of the situation of women at work and in society in general.

Feminism may have been very vocal at the time, but universities were not yet in tune. When Descarries proposed her Master's thesis topic at Université de Montréal (UdeM), she was one of the few to work on a feminist topic. Published in 1980 under the title L'École rose… et les cols roses, her book offered an early feminist view of the gendered division of labour and social reproduction at school and in the world or work. It would also contribute a great deal to the rise of gender relations analysis in Québec.

In 1978, with two other lecturers, Descarries designed the first course on what was then called "the condition of women" at UdeM. At the doctoral level, she was forced to branch off into the sociology of science, as there was no professor able to direct her in the writing of a feminist thesis. It was not her first compromise. As a teenager, she left school after the death of her father to go to work, so that her brother could continue his medical studies. It was at the age of 27, at Cégep Édouard-Montpetit, that her journey towards higher education really began.

Transforming social—and domestic—relations

Today, Francine Descarries is a seminal figure in feminist studies in Québec. "For me, feminist studies form a critical approach and an issue for action that aim to profoundly transform gender relations, and the way we think, speak and act about gender," she explains.

More of a sociological feminist than a feminist sociologist, Descarries tracks gender bias in the production of knowledge and cultures, deconstructs dominant theoretical models in order to impose gender as a critical category for analysis, introduces the words and experiences of women in methodology and questions the production/reproduction of inequalities between men and women and between women themselves. Because women do not form a homogeneous group and have very different needs depending on their social position, the feminist analysis must adopt an intersectional perspective.

Descarries observes that feminist studies are still marginalized in the field of science, but she believes that the knowledge they generate imposes new directions on mainstream thought and challenges many of its paradigms. The Expert@ database, published on line by the Réseau québécois en études féministes (RéQEF), lists more than 300 university researchers working in the field of feminist, gender and women's studies. Québec now has four university institutes of feminist studies.

Changing behaviours and mindsets is a long process. "The mental load of family life, for example, weighs heavier on women and is an obstacle to many careers," points out the researcher. "The structures of society have evolved, and attitudes as well, but that is difficult to translate into everyday activities. We need to rethink social relations in terms of greater equality and equity."

Un regard féministe sur la société



Jeune mère de famille dans les années 1970, Francine Descarries, professeure au Département de sociologie et à l'Institut de recherches et d'études féministes de l'Université du Québec à Montréal, est interpellée par le mouvement féministe, qui se fait de plus en plus entendre. Le sujet s'impose à elle, moins par ses lectures que par ses observations de la situation des femmes au travail et dans la société en général.

Le féminisme se fait plus vocal à l'époque, mais l'université n'est pas encore au diapason. Lorsque Francine Descarries propose son sujet de mémoire de maîtrise à l'Université de Montréal (UdeM), elle est l'une des seules à travailler sur un sujet féministe. Publié en 1980 sous le titre L'École rose… et les cols roses, son ouvrage offre une première lecture féministe de la division sexuelle du travail et de la reproduction sociale à l'école et dans le monde du travail. Il contribuera fortement à l'essor de l'analyse des rapports sociaux de sexe au Québec.

En 1978, avec deux autres chargées de cours, elle conçoit le premier cours sur ce qu'on appelait alors « la condition des femmes » à l'UdeM. Au doctorat, elle-même devra bifurquer vers la sociologie des sciences, faute de professeur pour la diriger dans la rédaction d'une thèse féministe. Ce n'est pas son premier compromis. Adolescente, elle abandonne ses études après la mort de son père pour aller travailler, afin que son frère puisse poursuivre ses études de médecine. C'est à 27 ans, au Cégep Édouard-Montpetit, que s'amorcera vraiment son parcours vers les études supérieures.

Transformer les rapports sociaux… et domestiques

Aujourd'hui, Francine Descarries est une figure de proue des études féministes au Québec. « Pour moi, les études féministes forment une démarche critique et une problématique d'action visant une transformation en profondeur des rapports sociaux de sexe, comme de la façon de penser, de dire et d'agir le genre », explique-t-elle.

Plus féministe sociologue que sociologue féministe, elle traque les biais de genre dans la production des savoirs et des cultures, déconstruit les modèles théoriques dominants afin d'imposer le sexe/genre comme catégorie critique d'analyse, introduit la parole et les expériences des femmes dans la méthodologie et interroge la production/reproduction des inégalités entre hommes et femmes et entre les femmes elles-mêmes. Parce que les femmes ne forment pas un bloc homogène et ont des besoins très différents selon leur position sociale, l'analyse féministe doit  adopter une perspective intersectionnelle.

Francine Descarries constate que les études féministes restent encore marginalisées dans le champ scientifique, mais elle croit que les connaissances qu'elles génèrent imposent de nouvelles directions aux courants de pensée dominants et remettent en cause nombre de leurs paradigmes. La base de données Expert@, mise en ligne par le Réseau québécois en études féministes (RéQEF), répertorie plus de 300 chercheuses et chercheurs universitaires œuvrant dans le domaine des études féministes, de genre et sur les femmes. Le Québec compte maintenant quatre instituts universitaires de recherche et d'études féministes.

Changer les comportements et les mentalités est un long processus. « La charge mentale de la famille, par exemple, pèse plus lourd sur les femmes et constitue un obstacle à de nombreuses carrières, rappelle la chercheuse. Les structures de la société ont évolué, les mentalités aussi, mais cela peine à se traduire dans les activités de tous les jours. Il faut repenser les rapports sociaux dans une perspective d'égalité et d'équité plus large. »