Perspectives on employer attitudes and behaviours towards workforce diversity: the case of Indigenous workers



Indigenous employees as a solution to the scarcity of labour in the natural resources sector

Québec's natural resource sectors are affected by labour shortages. At the same time, many Indigenous communities are interested in participating more in the economy of their region.

In this context, a multidisciplinary research team directed by professor Jean-Michel Beaudoin from Université Laval carried out a study to better understand the factors that influence Indigenous participation in the labour market.

This research identifies potential solutions for creating culturally relevant and safe environments for Indigenous workers.

A survey was conducted among 127 Québec forestry sector employers, including 18 Indigenous employers. In addition, employers in the mining, forestry and fisheries sectors were interviewed to document their attitudes and behaviours towards Indigenous employees, as well as their measures to value the cultural diversity of their workers.

The results of the research identify potential solutions for creating culturally relevant and safe environments for Indigenous workers. These include providing personalized follow-up, implementing a mentorship program, and hiring liaison officers to help with recruitment in communities, labour relations and career advancement.

Il is also necessary to promote intercultural understanding by offering training to all employees on Indigenous cultures and realities. Although the contexts vary from one sector to another, the results show that the recruitment, integration and retention of Indigenous employees are positively influenced by Indigenous ownership of the company, by agreements between companies and Indigenous communities, and by legal and statutory duties.

With the results of this study, which have been summarized in a table of good practices, it is now possible to design more effective strategies for the recruitment, integration and retention of Indigenous workers in natural resource sectors.

Main researcher

Jean-Michel Beaudoin, Université Laval

Please refer to this page for the different reports by fieldhttps://www.foresterieautochtone.ulaval.ca/attitudes-et-comportements

Summary

Research report

Call for proposals

Deposit of the research report: February 2019

Regards sur les attitudes et comportements des employeurs à l'égard de la diversité de la main-d'œuvre – le cas des personnes autochtones



Les employés autochtones comme solution à la rareté de la main-d'œuvre dans le secteur des ressources naturelles

Au Québec, les secteurs des ressources naturelles sont touchés par une rareté de main-d'œuvre. En parallèle, plusieurs communautés autochtones souhaitent participer davantage à l'économie de leur région.

Dans ce contexte, une équipe de recherche multidisciplinaire dirigée par le professeur Jean-Michel Beaudoin de l'Université Laval, a réalisé une recherche visant à mieux comprendre les facteurs qui influencent la participation des Autochtones au marché du travail.

Cette recherche offre des pistes de solution pour créer un environnement culturellement pertinent et sécurisant pour les travailleurs autochtones.

Un sondage a été réalisé auprès de 127 employeurs du secteur forestier québécois, dont 18 employeurs autochtones. De plus, des entrevues ont été réalisées avec des employeurs des secteurs minier, forestier et des pêches pour documenter leurs attitudes et comportements à l'égard des employés autochtones, ainsi que leurs pratiques pour valoriser la diversité culturelle des travailleurs.

Les résultats de la recherche permettent d'identifier des pistes de solution pour créer un environnement culturellement pertinent et sécurisant pour les travailleurs autochtones, notamment en assurant un suivi personnalisé, en mettant en œuvre une formule de mentorat, ou en embauchant des agents de liaison qui peuvent aider au recrutement dans les communautés, aux relations de travail et à l'avancement professionnel.

Il est également nécessaire de contribuer à un rapprochement interculturel en offrant une formation sur les réalités et les cultures autochtones à tous les employés. Bien que les contextes varient d'un secteur à l'autre, les résultats montrent que le recrutement, l'intégration et la rétention des employés autochtones sont influencés positivement par le fait qu'une entreprise appartienne à des Autochtones, par les partenariats entre les compagnies et les communautés et par les obligations légales et juridiques.

Avec les résultats de cette étude, synthétisés notamment dans un tableau de bonnes pratiques, il est maintenant possible de concevoir des interventions plus efficaces pour sur le recrutement, l'intégration et la rétention des travailleurs autochtones dans les secteurs des ressources naturelles.

Chercheur principal

Jean-Michel Beaudoin, Université Laval

Pour consulter les différents rapports par secteurs, veuillez vous référer à l'adresse suivante : https://www.foresterieautochtone.ulaval.ca/attitudes-et-comportements

Résumé

Rapport de recherche

Appel de propositions

Dépôt du rapport de recherche : février 2019