Teaching practices promoting the development of high school literacy skills in an inclusive education context



To support skills development, high school literacy should be approached by presenting the subject matter in a variety of formats (videos, podcasts, posters, graphic organizers) and by providing students with "writing to learn" activities, such as writing informative brochures using ICT (graphics, design, schematics software) to demonstrate their understanding.

Explicit teaching of reading comprehension strategies and writing strategies supported by metacognitive discussions aimed at developing self-regulation strategies in students are good practices to adopt in all high school subjects.

Reading should no longer be seen as a solitary activity, but rather as an interaction.

Reading should no longer be seen as a solitary activity, but as an interaction between the reader and the text, as well as between peer readers. The formation of pairs, teams and small discussion groups is recommended in the classroom to promote understanding of texts read in high school.

For the development of writing skills, peer interaction during complex tasks and collective prewriting activities, the development of graphic organizers, and teacher or peer feedback are good practices to adopt in the classroom, with all students. The programs, practices, approaches and tools identified to improve high school literacy teaching practices aim to teach a diversity of students while taking into account the organizational reality of secondary schools; they should be covered in initial teacher training as well as in continuing education.

Further studies will be needed to better understand, among other things, the effects of co-teaching of reading and writing, and of multimodal digital literacy in high school.

Main researcher

France Dubé, Université du Québec à Montréal

Summary

Research report

Call for proposals

Deposit of the research report: November 2018

Pratiques d'enseignement favorisant le développement de la compétence à lire et à écrire au secondaire en contexte d'inclusion scolaire



Pour soutenir le développement des compétences, la littératie au secondaire devrait être abordée en présentant sous plusieurs formes le contenu disciplinaire (vidéo, baladodiffusion, affiches, organisateurs graphiques) et en proposant aux élèves des activités visant à « écrire pour apprendre », par exemple en rédigeant des brochures informatives à l'aide des TICE (logiciels pour graphiques, dessins, schématisation) pour démontrer leur compréhension.

L'enseignement explicite de stratégies de compréhension de lecture et de stratégies d'écriture soutenu par des discussions métacognitives visant à développer des stratégies d'autorégulation chez les élèves sont des pratiques gagnantes à adopter dans toutes les disciplines du secondaire. 

La lecture ne devrait plus être considérée comme une activité solitaire, mais bien interactive.

La lecture ne devrait plus être considérée comme une activité solitaire, mais bien interactive, entre le lecteur et le texte, de même qu'entre les pairs lecteurs. La formation de dyades, d'équipes et de petits groupes de discussion est recommandée en classe afin de favoriser la compréhension des textes lus au secondaire.

Pour le développement de la compétence à écrire, l'interaction entre les pairs lors de tâches complexes ainsi que des activités collectives de préécriture, l'élaboration d'organisateurs graphiques et la rétroaction de l'enseignant ou d'un pair sont des pratiques à adopter, en classe, avec tous les élèves. Ces programmes, pratiques, approches ou outils recensés pour améliorer les pratiques d'enseignement de la lecture et de l'écriture au secondaire visent à enseigner à une diversité d'élèves tout en tenant compte de la réalité organisationnelle des écoles secondaires; ils devraient être abordés dès la formation initiale des enseignants de même qu'en formation continue.

D'autres études devront être conduites afin de mieux connaître, entre autres, les effets du coenseignement en lecture et en écriture et de la littératie numérique multimodale à l'école secondaire.

Chercheure principale

France Dubé, Université du Québec à Montréal

Résumé

Rapport de recherche

Appel de propositions

Dépôt du rapport de recherche : novembre 2018