Motherhood and fatherhood in the context of intimate partner violence: related questions and concertation issues



The situation of Alyssa, 6 years old, has been reported to child protection services due to exposure to intimate partner violence.

The police recently intervened for an episode of violence. Alyssa and her mother were then taken to a shelter. The mother is medicated for depression related to the violence, especially psychological violence, suffered at the hands of her spouse for several years. The father consumes alcohol and drugs every day. The family lives in very difficult socio-economic conditions and is socially isolated. Alyssa has great difficulty adjusting in school, is anxious and has trouble sleeping.

These situations represent the daily lives of one out of every two children exposed to intimate partner violence.

This is just one example of the significant difficulties faced by the families targeted by this research: families confronted with intimate partner violence in co-occurrence with at least one other parental problem related to mental health or drug or alcohol use.

The first (quantitative) component of this research showed that these situations are not exceptions, but represent the daily lives of one out of every two children exposed to intimate partner violence. Children growing up in such families experience significantly more developmental issues and their parents face additional challenges in exercising their maternal and paternal roles.

The second (qualitative) component provided a deeper understanding of the multiple and complex experiences of mothers, fathers and adolescents in a situation of co-occurrence and explored how they believe help services could better meet their needs.

The final component involved three knowledge transfer seminars with experts from the different practice settings concerned, to identify key recommendations for improving interventions. Finally, clinical consultations involving various experts were tested to provide more continuous and consistent assistance to these families.
 

Main researcher

Geneviève Lessard, Université Laval

Summary

Research report

Call for proposals

Deposit of the research report: September 2018

Maternité et paternité en contexte de violence conjugale : problématiques associées et enjeux de concertation



La situation d'Alyssa, 6 ans, est signalée à la Direction de la protection de la jeunesse pour exposition à la violence conjugale.

La police est intervenue récemment pour un épisode de violence. Alyssa et sa mère ont alors été conduites en maison d'hébergement. Madame prend des médicaments pour une dépression qui serait associée aux violences, surtout psychologiques, subies de la part de son conjoint depuis plusieurs années. Ce dernier consomme quotidiennement de l'alcool et des drogues. La famille vit dans des conditions socioéconomiques très difficiles et est isolée socialement. Alyssa a beaucoup de difficultés à s'adapter à l'école, elle est anxieuse et présente des troubles de sommeil.

Ces situations représentent le quotidien d'un enfant sur deux parmi ceux qui sont exposés à la violence conjugale.

Il s'agit d'un exemple parmi d'autres qui illustre les difficultés importantes rencontrées par les familles ciblées par la présente recherche, soit des familles qui vivent de la violence conjugale en cooccurrence avec au moins une autre difficulté parentale liée à la santé mentale ou à la consommation.

Le premier volet (quantitatif) de cette recherche a permis de montrer que ces situations ne sont pas des exceptions, mais représentent le quotidien d'un enfant sur deux parmi ceux qui sont exposés à la violence conjugale. Les enfants qui grandissent dans ces familles sont significativement plus affectés dans leur développement et leurs parents vivent des défis supplémentaires dans l'exercice de la maternité et de la paternité.

Le second volet (qualitatif) a d'ailleurs permis de comprendre plus en profondeur les expériences multiples et complexes vécues par des mères, des pères et des adolescents en situation de cooccurrence et d'explorer comment, selon eux, les services d'aide pourraient mieux répondre à leurs besoins.

Le dernier volet a permis de réaliser trois séminaires d'appropriation des connaissances avec des experts des différents milieux de pratique concernés, pour cibler les principales recommandations d'amélioration des interventions. Enfin, des concertations cliniques réunissant diverses expertises ont été expérimentées afin d'offrir une aide plus continue et cohérente à ces familles.

Chercheure principale

Geneviève Lessard, Université Laval

Résumé

Rapport de recherche

Appel de propositions

Dépôt du rapport de recherche : septembre 2018