The willingness and ability of Québec employers to attract and retain immigrant workers



Faced with a scarcity of labour, Québec employers consider turning to immigrant workers.

However, recent statistics point to another reality, as the unemployment rate for landed immigrants of less than 5 years is 15.8 % and that for all landed immigrants is 8.7%, compared with an unemployment rate of 4.5 % for Canadian-born Quebecers. 

36,9 % of the employers located outside the Montréal Metropolitan Area showed an interest in hiring recent immigrants.

In this context, the issue of the willingness and ability of Québec employers to attract and retain recent immigrant workers arises. A survey of more than 2,300 employers located outside the Montréal Metropolitan Area revealed that 36.9% of them showed an interest in hiring recent immigrants.

On the other hand, only 23.8% of the employers surveyed had actually hired any recent immigrants in the last five years. They indicated their willingness to implement certain measures to retain immigrant workers, with 82% of them reporting their experience with immigrant workers as satisfactory.  Examples of retention practices used include recognizing foreign diplomas, helping the workers to learn French and designating a mentor to facilitate the integration of new arrivals.

The employers explained that their ability to attract and retain recent immigrant workers is largely dependent on the integration of all members of their family (spouse and children) into the community. This requires initiatives beyond the boundaries of the organization, and employers have limited resources to facilitate this broader integration. Cooperation between employers and the different local and government agencies dedicated to socioeconomic development is a necessary step. Without their support, employers outside the Greater Montréal Area have little chance of improving their ability to attract and retain recent immigrant workers.

Main researcher

Catherine Beaudry, Université du Québec à Rimouski

Summary

Research report

Call for proposals

Deposit of the research report: Janaury 2019

L'embauche de travailleurs immigrants : la volonté et la capacité des employeurs québécois à les attirer et à les retenir en emploi



Confrontés à une rareté de la main-d'œuvre, les employeurs québécois envisagent recourir aux personnes immigrantes.

Les statistiques récentes laissent cependant envisager une autre réalité, alors que le taux de chômage des personnes immigrantes admises depuis moins de 5 ans s'élève à 15,8 % et celui de l'ensemble des immigrants reçus à 8,7%, comparativement à un taux de chômage de 4,5 % pour la population québécoise née au Canada.

36,9 % des employeurs localisés à l'extérieur de la région métropolitaine de Montréal montrent un intérêt pour l'embauche de personnes immigrantes récentes.

Dans ce contexte, l'enjeu de la volonté et de la capacité des employeurs québécois à attirer et à retenir des travailleurs immigrants récents est soulevé. Une étude menée auprès de plus 2300 employeurs localisés à l'extérieur de la région métropolitaine de Montréal révèle que 36,9 % d'entre eux montrent un intérêt pour l'embauche de personnes immigrantes récentes.

En revanche, seulement 23,8 % des employeurs sondés en ont effectivement embauché au cours des cinq dernières années. Ils indiquent qu'ils sont disposés à déployer certaines mesures pour retenir en emploi les personnes immigrantes, leur expérience à l'égard de leur embauche s'avérant satisfaisante pour 82 % d'entre eux. En guise d'exemples de pratiques, ils reconnaissent les diplômes obtenus à étrangers, soutiennent l'apprentissage du français ou désignent un parrain pour favoriser l'intégration des recrues.

Les employeurs expliquent que leur capacité d'attraction et de rétention des employés immigrants récents est largement tributaire de l'intégration de l'ensemble des membres de leur famille (conjoint(e) et enfants) dans la communauté. Les actions entreprises doivent alors dépasser les frontières de l'organisation, mais les employeurs disposent de ressources limitées pour participer à cette intégration élargie. La concertation entre les employeurs et les différents organismes locaux et gouvernementaux voués au développement socio-économique s'avère un passage obligé. Sans leur soutien, les employeurs situés à l'extérieur de la grande région de Montréal n'ont que peu de chances d'améliorer leur capacité d'attraction et de rétention du personnel immigrant récent.

Chercheure principale

Catherine Beaudry, Université du Québec à Rimouski

Résumé

Rapport de recherche

Appel de propositions

Dépôt du rapport de recherche : janvier 2019