Internet at the crossroads of youth entertainment: the interrelationship between internet addiction and gambling (WebAdo project)



The interrelationship between gambling and video game playing is attracting more and more interest from the scientific community, as well as from clinicians who are aware of the blurred line between these activities and their problematic forms.

Young Quebecers' perceptions of the link between online activities and gambling have not yet been studied. To that effect, this study aims to increase our knowledge of the links between gambling and video game playing and the presence of problematic internet use.

The young people recognize the addictive potential of both activities and suggest preventive strategies. 

At the same time, the study aims to meet the needs of clinical settings and the lack of standardized assessment tools for internet addiction. To that end, the study includes the development of a clinical assessment tool for internet addiction (WebAdo) developed in collaboration with experts in the field. Data obtained from 94 young Quebecers made it possible to determine an optimal cut-off point for the detection of internet addiction using the Internet Addiction Test, and to collect the preliminary data necessary to validate the WebAdo assessment grid.

Furthermore, a qualitative analysis of the interviews revealed several similarities between gambling and video game playing, particularly with regard to pleasure, motivation and thrill/valorization/sense of accomplishment.

In addition, the young people recognized the addictive potential of both activities and suggested potential preventive strategies to reduce the development of negative consequences. The multiple similarities between the two activities demonstrate the need for vigilance regarding the possible repercussions of the blurred line between gambling and video games.

Main researcher

Magali Dufour, Université de Sherbrooke

Summary

Research report

Call for proposals

Deposit of the research report: August 2018

Internet au carrefour du divertissement des jeunes : interrelations entre la cyberdépendance et les jeux de hasard et d'argent (projet WebAdo)



L'interrelation entre les jeux de hasard et d'argent (JHA) et les jeux vidéo (JV) suscite de plus en plus d'intérêt de la part de la communauté scientifique, mais également de la part des cliniciens qui sont aux faits des frontières poreuses entre ces activités et leurs formes problématiques.

La perception des jeunes Québécois par rapport aux liens unissant les activités en ligne et les JHA n'ont toujours pas fait l'objet d'une étude. À cet effet, la présente étude vise à étayer les connaissances sur les liens unissant les habitudes de JHA, de JV et la présence d'habitudes problématiques d'utilisation d'Internet.


Les jeunes reconnaissent le potentiel addictogène de ces deux activités et suggèrent des pistes de prévention.

Parallèlement, l'étude vise à répondre aux besoins des milieux cliniques et à l'absence d'outils standardisés d'évaluation de la cyberdépendance. En ce sens, l'étude inclut le développement d'un outil clinique d'évaluation de la cyberdépendance (l'outil WebAdo) développé en collaboration avec des experts du domaine. Ainsi, les données obtenues auprès de 94 jeunes Québécois ont permis de déterminer un point de césure optimal pour la détection de la cyberdépendance à l'aide de l'Internet Addiction Test, et d'amasser les données préliminaires nécessaires à la validation de la grille d'évaluation WebAdo.

Par ailleurs, une analyse qualitative des entrevues a permis de constater plusieurs similitudes entre les JHA et les JV notamment en ce qui a trait au plaisir associé à ces activités, aux motivations à y participer ainsi qu'à la présence de thrill, de valorisation et de sentiment d'accomplissement.

De même, les jeunes reconnaissent le potentiel addictogène de ces deux activités et suggèrent des pistes de prévention afin de prévenir le développement de conséquences potentielles. Les multiples similarités entre les deux activités démontrent la nécessité d'une vigilance par rapport aux possibles conséquences des frontières perméables entre les JHA et les JV.

Chercheure principale

Magali Dufour, Université de Sherbrooke

Résumé

Rapport de recherche

Appel de propositions

Dépôt du rapport de recherche : août 2018