Testing of didactic tools for syntax and punctuation learning based on the interactive metacognitive dictation model in Elementary Cycle 3 and Secondary Cycle 1 and their effect on writing skills



Mastering the rules of punctuation and syntax in written French as language of instruction is a major challenge for both students and teachers alike.

Indeed, it is the second most failed criterion in ministerial examinations, yet resources for its teaching are scarce.

The results with regard to writing skills are encouraging!

To address this issue, a team of researchers, in collaboration with teachers and educational advisors, has developed and adjusted three types of activities for teaching punctuation and syntax: 1) inductive activities for distinguishing between the concepts of syntactic and graphic sentences; 2) punctuation activities in the manner of "sentence of the day dictations"; and 3) sentence combining activities. These activities are based on key principles: grammatical justification, the use of precise grammatical terms, interaction with the teacher and between students, and an emphasis on syntactic complexity, adding creativity to a learning process that does not lead to a single "right answer".

Following an initial year spent developing and adjusting the activities, a series was tested in several Elementary Cycle 3 and Secondary Cycle 1 classes in disadvantaged areas. The results with regard to writing skills are encouraging: significant progress was observed in punctuation in both Elementary Cycle 3 and in Secondary Cycle 1, as well as greater syntactic complexity in Secondary Cycle 1.

To learn more about the activities developed under the project, teachers and instructors are invited to join the private Facebook group, where they can access class videos and consult the report to see the progression of students' writing skills.

Main researcher

Marie Nadeau, Université du Québec à Montréal

Summary

Research report

Appendices

Call for proposals

Deposit of the research report: June 2020

Expérimentation de dispositifs didactiques en syntaxe et en ponctuation « à la manière » des dictées métacognitives et interactives, au 3e cycle primaire et 1er cycle secondaire et effet sur la compétence en écriture



La maîtrise des règles de ponctuation et de syntaxe à l'écrit en français langue d'enseignement constitue un défi de taille autant pour les élèves que pour les enseignants.

En effet, il s'agit du 2e critère le plus échoué aux épreuves ministérielles, pourtant, les ressources pour son enseignement sont rares.

Les résultats sur la compétence à écrire sont encourageants!

Pour pallier ce problème, une équipe de chercheures a développé et ajusté, en collaboration avec des enseignantes, enseignants et des conseillères pédagogiques, trois types d'activités pour enseigner la ponctuation et la syntaxe : 1) des activités inductives pour distinguer les notions de phrase syntaxique et de phrase graphique; 2) des activités de ponctuation « à la manière » d'une phrase dictée du jour; et 3) des activités de combinaison de phrases. Ces activités se fondent sur des principes importants : la justification grammaticale, l'utilisation de termes grammaticaux précis, l'interaction avec l'enseignant et entre élèves et la valorisation de la complexité syntaxique, ce qui confère de la créativité à cet enseignement qui ne conduit pas à une unique « bonne réponse ».

À la suite d'une première année d'élaboration et d'ajustement des activités, une séquence a été expérimentée au 3e cycle du primaire et au 1er cycle du secondaire dans plusieurs classes en milieu défavorisé. Les résultats sur la compétence à écrire sont encourageants : on observe des progrès significatifs en ponctuation au 3e cycle primaire et en 1re secondaire ainsi qu'une plus grande complexité syntaxique en 1re secondaire.

Pour découvrir les activités développées, les enseignants et les formateurs sont invités à adhérer au groupe privé Facebook pour accéder aux vidéos de classe et à consulter le rapport pour prendre connaissance des progrès réalisés par les élèves en écriture.

Chercheure principale

Marie Nadeau, Université du Québec à Montréal

Résumé

Rapport de recherche

Annexes

Appel de propositions

Dépôt du rapport de recherche : juin 2020