Environmental characteristics that foster social participation: development of an intervention tool adapted to Québec's aging population



Population aging is a major challenge that requires innovative interventions to improve the health of aging Quebecers.

Determinants of seniors' health include social participation, i.e. the involvement of the individual in activities that lead to interaction with others in the community.

This study helps to plan environments that will promote healthy aging for older Quebecers.

In order to improve social participation among the elderly, it is important to create age-friendly environments, for example by facilitating active transportation and making it possible to use nearby businesses. The purpose of this study was to document the environmental characteristics associated with the social participation of aging Quebecers and to develop a Social Participation Potential Index (SPPI). Presented in the form of an interactive atlas, the SPPI characterizes the user-friendliness of Québec's neighbourhoods and municipalities with regard to social participation.

The results show that seniors living in urban areas have the most frequent social participation, followed by those living in suburban areas, and then those in rural areas. They also reveal that the environmental characteristics most strongly associated with social participation are not the same from one environment to another. These characteristics include mixed land use, the proportion of the population aged 65 and over, the level of social deprivation and the number of traffic lights and kilometres of walking trails.

Finally, inequalities in the potential for regional participation offered by Québec's neighbourhoods and municipalities are identified by the SPPI, i.e. these territories are not equally conducive to senior participation. The SPPI helps to better identify neighbourhoods and municipalities that are less favorable to social participation and to plan environments that will promote healthy aging for older Quebecers.
 

Main resercher

Mélanie Levasseur, CIUSSS de l'Estrie - CHUS

Summary

Research report

Call for proposals

Deposit of the research report: December 2017

Caractéristiques environnementales favorisant la participation sociale : développement d'un outil d'intervention adapté aux particularités de la population québécoise vieillissante



Le vieillissement de la population est un important défi qui nécessite des interventions innovantes pour améliorer la santé des Québécois vieillissants.

Parmi les déterminants qui favorisent la santé des aînés, on retrouve la participation sociale, c'est-à-dire l'implication de la personne dans des activités qui lui procurent des interactions avec les autres dans la communauté.

L'étude permet de de planifier des environnements qui favoriseront un vieillissement en santé des Québécois.

Afin d'améliorer la participation sociale des aînés, il importe de créer des environnements favorables au vieillissement, par exemple facilitant les déplacements actifs et permettant l'utilisation de commerces de proximité. La présente étude visait ainsi à documenter les caractéristiques environnementales associées à la participation sociale des Québécois vieillissants et à développer un Indice du potentiel de participation sociale (IPPS). Présenté sous la forme d'un atlas interactif, l'IPPS caractérise la convivialité des quartiers et des municipalités du Québec en égard à la participation sociale.

Les résultats montrent que les aînés habitant en milieu urbain participent plus fréquemment, suivis de ceux habitant en métropolitain, puis en rural. Par ailleurs, les caractéristiques environnementales les plus associées à la participation sociale ne sont pas les mêmes d'un milieu à l'autre. Parmi ces caractéristiques on retrouve : la mixité de l'utilisation du sol, la proportion de la population âgée de 65 ans et plus, le niveau de défavorisation sociale et le nombre de kilomètres de sentiers et de feux de circulation.

Enfin, des inégalités relatives au potentiel de participation sociale qu'offrent les quartiers et les municipalités du Québec sont identifiées par l'IPPS, c'est-à-dire ces territoires ne sont pas propices à la participation sociale des aînés de manière équivalente. L'IPPS permet de mieux identifier les quartiers et les municipalités moins favorables à la participation sociale et de planifier des environnements qui favoriseront un vieillissement en santé des Québécois vieillissants.

Chercheure principale

Mélanie Levasseur, CIUSSS de l'Estrie - CHUS

Résumé

Rapport de recherche

Appel de propositions

Dépôt du rapport de recherche : décembre 2017