Two literatures in interaction

In May 2010, Neil Bissoondath was appointed Chevalier of the Ordre national du Québec. The conferring of this honour on an English-language author followed the awarding of the Athanase-David prize to Mavis Gallant in 2006, and of the Grand Prix du livre de Montréal to David Solway two years earlier. It is clear that Anglo-Quebec literature is receiving increasing attention on home ground, whether from journalists, authors, researchers or Quebec translators. 

Directed by Lianne Moyes from Université de Montréal, the Équipe de recherche sur la littérature anglo-québécoise (Anglo-Quebec Literature Research Team) is studying the numerous interactions between Quebec's French-language and English-language literatures, which take the form of translations of literary works, literary affiliations and the creation of literary institutions. The researchers are examining these connections to discover the various forms of conflict and collaboration that occur between the two, and to better understand the specific contribution of English-language literature to reflections within the Québécois literary institution. 

A real crossroads for specialists from different national literatures and literary genres, this research team is creating a space for dynamic exchange and providing the methodological tools necessary to help graduate students to work on texts in the two languages. The researchers' work is contributing to our understanding of the impact of francophone culture on the writing of anglophone authors. 

Members of the team have produced thematic issues of Spirale, Voix et images, Québec Studies and Canadian Poetry. Some of their texts will also appear in the collection La littérature anglo-québécoise, to be released in 2011 (Presses de l'Université Laval). In addition, since 2005 the research team has organized four conferences in the context of the annual congress of the Association francophone pour le savoir.


Équipe de recherche sur la littérature anglo-québécoise


Lianne Moyes, Université de Montréal

Regular members

  • Gillian Lane-Mercier, Université McGill 
  • Martine-Emmanuelle Lapointe, Université de Montréal 
  • Gregory Reid, Université de Sherbrooke