Scholarship for internship outside Québec (BSHQ)


Summary

Competition year :

2017-2018

 

Deadline (application) :

November 15th, 2017, 4 PM

 

Amount :

Max $10,000

 

Duration :

Between 2 to 6 months

 

Announcement of results :

January 2018

 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE: The link to the FRQ electronic Portfolio (forms) is available under the Portals Access. More details are available in the About FRQnet section.

 

This program refers to the Common General Rules (CGR), which are applicable to all programs of the FRQSC. Only the special terms and conditions applicable to the Scholarship for internship outside Québec are indicated in this document, and these prevail over the CGR .

 

Updates to contact information can be made directly in FRQnet E-portfolio.

 

ANY APPLICATION THAT IS INCOMPLETE ON THE COMPETITION CLOSING DATE WILL BE DEEMED INELIGIBLE BY THE FONDS.

 



1.

PROGRAM OBJECTIVES

  • Encourage national and international mobility, allowing scholarship holders to widen their scientific network and enrich their intellectual development through contact with different research traditions;
  • Provide added value to the doctoral training of the scholarship holder through mobility and collaboration outside Quebec and internationally;
  • Foster scientific exchange and openness to new research perspectives.

2.

TARGET GROUP

This program is intended for FRQSC Master's or Doctoral scholarship holders wishing to do a short-term internship in an academic setting outside of Québec. If you meet the eligibility requirements and wish to submit an application, please write to bshq.sc@frq.gouv.qc.ca in order to access the form.


3.

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

In addition to holding a FRQSC scholarship, applicants must meet all eligibility requirements at the competition deadline.  

  • He/she must be enrolled as a full-time student in a Master's or doctoral program in a Québec university;

  • The internship must be conducted outside Québec. The co-tutoring institution is not eligible;

  • The internship must be jointly supervised by the Master's or doctoral research supervisor and a supervisor affiliated with the host institution;

  • The applicant must clearly demonstrate the nature of the scientific activities in which he/she will participate and their contribution to widening his/her scientific experience and network. The internship has to provide an added value to the master or doctoral training. Internships aimed solely at pursuing course work or seminars are not eligible;

  • Only one internship can be funded under this program during the duration of the FRQSC scholarship;

  • The internship must last at least two months, and may be extended to a maximum of six months. The internship may be carried out in several stages, but only one round trip will be reimbursed;

  • At the start date of the internship, the applicant must have completed all required coursework for his/her program of study, and his/her Master's project or thesis topic must have received final approval from the designated authorities;

  • The internship must be completed no later than the end of the ninth semester of enrollment in a full-time Master's program, or the fifteenth semester of enrollment in a doctoral program;

  • The internship may begin before the competition deadline, but it must not be completed before this date.  


5.

COMPETITION DEADLINES

There are two annual competitions. Application deadlines are April 17 and October 16 November 15. For the April 17 competition, the internship must begin by the following March 31. For the October 16 November 15 competition, the internship must begin by the following September 30.


6.

VALUE OF THE SCHOLARSHIP AND EXPENSES COVERED

The value of the BSHQ scholarship is determined based on the eligible expenses described below. A BSHQ scholarship may be combined with a FRQSC Master's or Doctoral Scholarship. It may also be combined with other internship funding sources, but may not be used to cover expenses charged to another source of funding.

 

Tuition fees

Tuition fees paid to the host institution will be reimbursed to a maximum of $4,000. When calculating the amount owed, the Fonds considers tuition fees only and does not include enrolment fees or membership fees for student associations, etc. In all cases, official receipts must be provided.

 

Travel allowance

The cost of return economy-class travel by plane, train or bus to the location of the internship will be reimbursed upon presentation of a copy of the ticket (paper or e-ticket), along with a detailed invoice. Note that only return tickets indicating a city of departure on the outward leg identical to the city of arrival on the return will be considered for full reimbursement. In the case of one-way tickets, only one ticket, the more expensive one, is covered. Expenditures for travel to or from train or bus stations and airports are reimbursed on presentation of supporting documents.

For travel by car, the amount payable is $0.43 per kilometre to a maximum equal to the price of return economy airline fare. Car expenses are payable upon presentation of two service station receipts, one issued at the start of the trip and the other at the destination.

Only one round trip is payable even if the internship is carried out in separate stages. Only cost of a round trip to the site of the internship can be reimbursed. No additional amount to cover any other travel expenses is paid during the internship.

No additional amount is paid to cover other expenditures such as travel expenses for a spouse or dependants, moving personal effects or transporting research material.

Living expenses

A lump-sum allowance of $1,500 per month is granted for living expenses, indexed to the cost of living at the location of the internship. Payment is made upon receipt of an attestation from the internship supervisor specifying the start date and the completion date of the internship. In addition to the allowance for tuition fees, the maximum amount reimbursed for indexed living expenses and travel expenses is $10,000. Only those expenses not covered by other funding sources can be charged to the BSHQ.


7.

APPLICATION FORM AND REQUIRED DOCUMENTS

The application must include the following using the form available in FRQnet and the E-portfolio. Documents must be attached in PDF format in the sections intended for that purpose:

  • A duly completed application form;

  • A letter of support from the Master's or doctoral research supervisor;

  • A letter of support from the internship supervisor at the host institution;

The application must be in French or English.

Applications are evaluated on their intrinsic worth. They must contain all information required for their evaluation. Incomplete applications will be deemed ineligible.

It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure that his/her BSHQ application is complete, and that his/her FRQSC file is up to date.


8.

APPLICATION EVALUATION

Evaluation criteria

Internship (50 points)

  • Objectives and relevance of the internship

  • Appropriateness of the internship with respect to the master or thesis project

  • Added value of the internship (for the host institution and for the applicant)

Time frame (20 points)

  • Relevance of the proposed activities

  • Feasibility of the time frame

Host environment and supervision (30 points)

  • Quality of the host institution and the supervision it offers

Evaluation process

All applications received will be assessed for eligibility by the FRQSC before being submitted to the evaluation committee. Notwithstanding the foregoing, the evaluation committee has the right to declare an application ineligible if it considers that it does not meet program requirements.

Applications are evaluated by multidisciplinary expert committees recruited within and outside of Québec. It is therefore important to ensure that the project description is written in a clear and precise manner to be sure of receiving an appropriate evaluation. The evaluation committee analyzes all applications received on a comparative basis using the evaluation criteria in force. It also recommends the funding period based on the proposed time frame and the objectives of the internship. Consequently, the recommended length of the internship may differ from that indicated in the application.  

The evaluation committee makes recommendations for each application received. The number of recommended applications that receive funding will depend on the availability of FRQSC funding for the program.


9.

TERMS OF THE SCHOLARSHIP

  • Scholarship holders must continue to be enrolled as full-time students in their program of study for the duration of the internship.
  • The start and end dates of the internship may be changed by submitting a "Demande de modification" (request for change) form, which must be accepted by the Fonds. The proposed changes must meet all eligibility conditions and cannot change the nature of the internship presented and evaluated in the initial application.

10.

ANNOUNCEMENT OF COMPETITION RESULTS

The results of the April 17 competition will be announced at the beginning of June.

The results of the October 16 November 15 competition will be announced at the beginning of December January.

BSHQ recipients are responsible for contacting the consulate or embassy of the host country to obtain a visa if necessary.


11.

RULES GOVERNING STACKING OF SCHOLARSHIPS

BSHQ recipients are not eligible for the Soutien aux cotutelles Québec-France program or other Government of Québec or Government of Canada mobility programs during the same period. Students funded under the mobility support program (Ministère de l'Éducation et de l'Enseignement Supérieur in collaboration with universities) can claim only the difference between the value of the mobility scholarship and funding received under the BSHQ program.


12.

INTERNSHIP REPORT

BSHQ recipients agree to submit to the Fonds, no later than one month after the end of the internship, a report summarizing the work done and the extent to which the objectives were achieved. The internship supervisor at the host institution must complete the section provided for this purpose, detailing the successes and/or failures of the internship as perceived by the host institution.


Do you have questions?

agent picture

Julien Chapdelaine

Responsable de programmes

 bshq.sc

418 643-7582, poste 3146

Assistance informatique

Courriel : centre.assistance.sc
Québec : 418 646-3669
Ext. de Québec : 1 866 621-7084

Lundi au vendredi
8 h 30 à 12 h et 13 h à 16 h
(vendredis d'été : 8 h 30 à 12 h)

Les demandes d'assistance technique acheminées par courriel sont traitées en priorité.

Bourse pour stage hors Québec (BSHQ)


En résumé

Année de concours :

2017-2018

 

Date limite (demande) :

15 novembre 2017, 16h

 

Montant :

Maximum 10 000$

 

Durée du financement :

Entre 2 et 6 mois

 

Annonce des résultats :

Janvier 2018

 

 

NOTE IMPORTANTE : Le lien vers le Portfolio électronique du FRQ (formulaires) est disponible sous l'onglet Accès portails du site web. Plus d'informations sont disponibles dans la section À propos de FRQnet.

 

Le présent programme fait référence aux Règles générales communes (RGC). Celles-ci s'appliquent à l'ensemble de la programmation du FRQSC. Seules les conditions particulières s'appliquant au programme de Bourse pour stage hors Québec sont indiquées dans ce document et prévalent sur les RGC.

 

Pour la mise à jour des coordonnées personnelles, le profil peut être modifié dans le Portfolio électronique du FRQnet.

 

UN DOSSIER INCOMPLET À LA DATE DE CLÔTURE DU CONCOURS SERA DÉCLARÉ NON ADMISSIBLE PAR LE FONDS.

 



1.

OBJECTIFS

  • Encourager la mobilité nationale et internationale en vue d'élargir le réseau scientifique et d'enrichir le cheminement intellectuel au contact de différentes traditions de recherche;
  • Permettre d'ajouter une plus-value à la formation universitaire grâce à la mobilité et à la collaboration hors-Québec et internationales;
  • Favoriser les échanges scientifiques et l'ouverture à de nouvelles perspectives de recherche.

2.

PERSONNES VISÉES - ACCÈS AU FORMULAIRE

Ce programme s'adresse aux personnes bénéficiant d'une bourse à la maîtrise et au doctorat du FRQSC qui souhaitent faire un stage de courte durée dans un milieu universitaire à l'extérieur du Québec. Si vous répondez aux conditions d'admissibilité et que vous souhaitez déposer une demande, veuillez écrire à bshq.sc@frq.gouv.qc.ca afin d'avoir accès au formulaire.

 


3.

CONDITIONS D'ADMISSIBILITÉ

La personne candidate, qui détient obligatoirement une bourse du FRQSC, doit satisfaire à toutes les conditions d'admissibilité à la date limite du concours.  

  • Être inscrite à temps plein dans un programme de maitrise ou de doctorat, dans une université québécoise.
  • Avoir un lieu de stage doit être situé à l'extérieur du Québec. L'établissement de cotutelle n'est pas admissible.
  • Être pendant le stage, sous la supervision de la personne assurant la direction de la maitrise ou du doctorat et sous une supervision scientifique affiliée au milieu d'accueil.
  • Démontrer clairement la nature des activités scientifiques auxquelles la personne participera et leur contribution à l'élargissement de l'expérience scientifique et du réseautage. Le stage doit apporter une valeur ajoutée au programme d'études. Le stage qui ne vise que la poursuite de cours ou de séminaires n'est pas admissible.
  • Un seul stage peut être financé dans le cadre de ce programme pendant la durée de la bourse.   
  • Le stage doit être d'une durée minimale de deux mois et peut s'étendre jusqu'à six mois maximum. Il est possible d'effectuer le stage en plusieurs étapes, mais un seul déplacement aller-retour est remboursable.
  • Au moment du début du stage, la scolarité obligatoire dans le cadre du programme d'études doit être terminée, et le projet de maitrise ou de thèse doit avoir reçu l'approbation finale des instances désignées.
  • Le stage doit se terminer au plus tard au terme de la neuvième session d'inscription à temps plein à la maitrise, et de la quinzième session d'inscription au doctorat.
  • Le stage peut être commencé à la date du concours, mais il ne peut pas être terminé à cette date.

5.

DATES LIMITES DES CONCOURS

Deux concours par année sont offerts dont les dates limites sont le 17 avril et le 16 octobre 15 novembre. Les stages pour les demandes soumises le 17 avril doivent débuter au plus tard le 31 mars suivant. Pour le concours du 16 octobre 15 novembre, les stages doivent commencer au plus tard le 30 septembre suivant.


6.

VALEUR DE LA BOURSE ET FRAIS COUVERTS

La valeur de la BSHQ est estimée en fonction des dépenses admissibles décrites ci-après. La BSHQ est cumulable avec la bourse de maitrise ou de doctorat du FRQSC. Elle peut également être complémentaire à d'autres sources de financement du stage, mais elle ne peut pas servir à couvrir des dépenses imputées à d'autres fonds.

Frais de scolarité

Les frais de scolarité payés à l'établissement d'accueil jusqu'à un maximum de 4 000 $ canadiens peuvent être remboursés. Pour le calcul de cette indemnité, le Fonds tient compte uniquement des frais de scolarité, à l'exclusion des frais d'inscription, de cotisation à des associations étudiantes, etc. Dans tous les cas, des reçus officiels doivent être présentés.

Frais de déplacement

Le coût d'un billet d'avion, de train ou d'autobus aller-retour en classe économique pour se rendre sur le lieu de stage sera remboursé sur présentation d'une copie du billet (électronique ou papier) et de la facture détaillée. Seuls les billets aller-retour présentant une ville de départ (à l'aller) identique à la ville d'arrivée (au retour) seront considérés pour un remboursement intégral. Par ailleurs, une demande de remboursement des frais de déplacement présentant des billets de type aller simple sera payée au montant d'un seul billet soumis, soit celui du plus coûteux. Les coûts du transport pour atteindre ou quitter les gares et les aéroports seront remboursés sur présentation de pièces justificatives.

Si le moyen de transport utilisé est l'automobile, l'indemnité sera de 0,43 $/km, jusqu'à concurrence du prix d'un aller-retour en avion en classe économique. Ces frais seront remboursés sur présentation de deux reçus de stations-services l'un au départ, l'autre à l'arrivée.

Un seul déplacement aller-retour est remboursable même si le stage se fait en plusieurs étapes. Seuls les frais de déplacement pour se rendre sur les lieux du stage et en revenir peuvent être remboursés.  Les frais de déplacement sur place ne sont pas remboursables.

Aucune indemnité ne sera versée pour d'autres frais (ex. : frais de voyage du conjoint ou des personnes à charge, frais de déménagement des effets personnels ou frais de transport du matériel de recherche).

Frais de séjour

Une allocation forfaitaire pour les frais de séjour de 1 500 $ par mois, indexée en fonction du coût de la vie dans le lieu de réalisation du stage, sera payée à la réception d'une attestation provenant de la personne assurant la supervision du stage et précisant la date du début et de la fin du stage effectué. En plus de l'indemnité pour les frais de scolarité, le montant maximum remboursable pour l'ensemble des frais de séjour indexés et les frais de déplacement est de 10 000 $ canadiens. Seuls les frais non couverts par d'autres sources de financement pourront être imputés à la BSHQ.


7.

PRÉSENTATION DE LA DEMANDE

Le dossier de candidature doit contenir les éléments suivants via le formulaire dans FRQnet et le portfolio électronique en y joignant les documents en format PDF dans les sections prévues à cet effet :

  • Un formulaire de demande dument rempli;
  • Une lettre d'appui de la personne qui dirige la maitrise ou le doctorat;
  • Une lettre d'appui de la personne qui assurera la supervision du stage en milieu d'accueil.

La demande d'aide financière doit être rédigée en français ou en anglais.

La demande est évaluée sur sa valeur intrinsèque. Elle doit contenir toute l'information requise pour son évaluation. Les demandes incomplètes seront déclarées non admissibles.

Un dossier incomplet, ne présentant pas les renseignements permettant d'en établir l'admissibilité ou d'en faire l'évaluation est déclaré non recevable par le Fonds. Aucun document non exigé ne sera soumis au comité d'évaluation. Les éléments absents du dossier ne sont pas demandés. Tous les documents reçus après la date de dépôt des demandes ne sont pas considérés et il n'y a pas de mise à jour des dossiers.

NE PAS OUBLIER DE TRANSMETTRE LA DEMANDE UNE FOIS COMPLÉTÉE.

Il est possible de vérifier en tout temps que le formulaire de demande est bien transmis dans le Portefolio électronique à la section  « Mes formulaires ». La mention « Transmis au Fonds » doit y apparaître, et ce, au plus tard à la date et à l'heure de clôture du concours.

 


8.

ÉVALUATION DE LA DEMANDE

Critères d'évaluation 

Projet de stage (50 points)

  • Objectifs et pertinence du stage;
  • Adéquation entre le projet de maîtrise ou de thèse et le projet de stage;
  • Valeur ajoutée du stage (pour le milieu d'accueil et pour la personne candidate).

Calendrier des réalisations (20 points)

  • Pertinence des activités;
  • Réalisme du calendrier.

Milieu d'accueil et d'encadrement (30 points)

  • Qualité du milieu d'accueil et de l'encadrement

Processus d'évaluation

Les demandes soumises feront l'objet d'une vérification de leur admissibilité par le FRQSC avant d'être acheminées au comité d'évaluation. Ce dernier a néanmoins le droit de déclarer une demande non admissible s'il juge qu'elle ne répond pas aux conditions du programme.

Les demandes sont évaluées par des comités d'experts multidisciplinaires, recrutés au Québec et à l'international. Il est donc important de s'assurer que la description du projet est clairement énoncée pour en assurer une évaluation adéquate. Le comité d'évaluation analyse les candidatures présentées sur une base comparative et en fonction des critères d'évaluation en vigueur. Il recommande également la période financée en fonction du calendrier soumis dans la demande en tenant compte des objectifs du stage. Par conséquent, la durée recommandée peut être différente de celle indiquée dans la demande.

Le comité d'évaluation formule des recommandations pour chaque dossier présenté. Le nombre de dossiers recommandés qui feront l'objet d'un financement dépend des fonds disponibles pour ce programme au FRQSC.


9.

RÈGLES D'UTILISATION DE LA BOURSE

  • La personne bénéficiant de la bourse doit demeurer inscrite à temps plein dans son programme d'études pour toute la durée du stage.
  • Les dates de début et de fin du stage peuvent être modifiées sous condition de l'approbation, par le Fonds, d'une demande de modification présentée par la personne qui s'est vu octroyer une BSHQ. Le changement proposé doit respecter l'ensemble des règles d'admissibilité et n'engendrer aucune modification à la nature du stage tel qu'évalué.

10.

ANNONCE DES RÉSULTATS

Les résultats de l'évaluation des demandes déposées au concours du 17 avril seront communiqués au début du mois de juin suivant.

Les résultats de l'évaluation des demandes déposées au concours du 16 octobre 15 novembre seront communiqués au début du mois de décembre janvier suivant.

Les récipiendaires de bourses pour stage hors Québec ont la responsabilité de s'informer auprès du consulat ou de l'ambassade du pays d'accueil pour obtenir, s'il y a lieu, un visa de séjour.


11.

RÈGLES DE CUMUL

Si une BSHQ est accordée, aucun cumul avec le programme de Soutien aux cotutelles Québec-France ou avec d'autres programmes de mobilité offerts par le gouvernement du Québec et du gouvernement fédéral n'est possible pour la même période. Les récipiendaires du programme de soutien à la mobilité (ministère de l'Éducation et de l'Enseignement supérieur en collaboration avec les universités) ne peuvent réclamer que la différence entre la valeur de la bourse à la mobilité et la valeur du financement obtenu au programme de BSHQ.


12.

RAPPORT DE STAGE

Toute personne récipiendaire d'une BSHQ s'engage à transmettre au Fonds, au plus tard un mois après la fin du stage, un rapport résumant le déroulement des activités et l'atteinte des objectifs. La personne qui assure la supervision dans le milieu de stage doit remplir la section qui lui est réservée, en faisant état des réussites et/ou des échecs du stage tels que perçus ou évalués par le milieu d'accueil. 


Avez-vous des questions?

photo de l agent

Julien Chapdelaine

Responsable de programmes

 bshq.sc

418 643-7582, poste 3146

Assistance informatique

Courriel : centre.assistance.sc
Québec : 418 646-3669
Ext. de Québec : 1 866 621-7084

Lundi au vendredi
8 h 30 à 12 h et 13 h à 16 h
(vendredis d'été : 8 h 30 à 12 h)

Les demandes d'assistance technique acheminées par courriel sont traitées en priorité.